On a Serious Note

The vegan issue for me has been a big one. And i’ve kind of candy coated my waffling back and forth. Being vegan has always felt to me like the best way to live. I like to live gently in all aspects of my life and were I not having continuously worsening health issues, I never would have looked into changing.  But I know it’s frustrating for Dan that over the past year and a half I’ve gone back and forth between vegan, raw vegan (very difficult living on a cruise ship for me. I ate waaaaay too much dried fruit), vegetarian and ketogenic. And it’s frustrating for me. I really respect a person who lives by their beliefs and how could I respect myself when beliefs felt uncertain. 

After Christmas I ate vegan again for 9 days. Those 9 days found me painfully clutching my stomach, bloated, on the toilet most of the time. But I had more energy for running.  I was constantly hungry and conflicted and craving sugar. And then I went back to strict ketogenic and everything disappeared  – no stomach pains, no bloating, consistent energy and decreased sugar cravings. Instantly. 

Is there a middle ground? How do I justify eating animals?

I’ve been reading a lot of other peoples experiences vegan and non.  Here are some that I was surprised to find about very devout vegans developing health problems that forced them away from veganism.

Kristen’s Raw

Alex Jamieson (hotly debated)

A Vegan No More

and heaps more articles.  There’s just as many on both sides of the spectrum, but since this is the side I’m struggling with I’m reading these first. 

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

