Rambling thoughts on running…

So I’m getting back into running after my injury and there’s somedays that I start jogging and then bam 40 minutes roll by and push another 20 and I think, bad ass! I just jogged for an hour. There’s days, or a string of many days where the thought of doing more then walking on the treadmill gives me the shakes. Why? I really want to work up my mileage so that when I get to Australia in 3 weeks I can go for some really nice runs outside. So I get myself phsyc’d up but for the past two weeks I’ve done either just long walks, elliptical or 10 minute jogs with long walks after. My legs feel leadened. Today, I warmed up with a 5 minute walk then jogged for 30 minutes. My head wanted to keep jogging my legs decided we’d walk another half hour. I call it a win as 30 minutes is a good run and I can slowly up it from there. But I’m impatient. I know I can push it, and I will keep pushing it, just slowly – an extra 5 -10 minutes then I desire every time. I’m not a competitive runner (professionally) and I run because I enjoy the sweat, the meditative quality of it and the endurance payoff I get (read – shows are easier for me when I’m running regularly). So slow and steady it is but gah! I’m not overworked or overtraining (I’ve done that before) in fact we’re working less then ever and sleeping more!

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on November 16, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

