Labor Day musings…

Happy Labor day –  Mondays, is my day off regardless of the holiday. While the rest of the world hates this day I know that for the last few months this has been my day to sit in Bermuda drinking coffee and checking my email, laying out on the beach and sometimes recovering from a Sunday night cocktail or two. Today was one of those recovering kind of days. I hit a nice easy elliptical earlier and now I’m sitting at a cafe with Dan enjoying my wifi with some Illy coffee. and what I’m I looking up online? Fake hair. Should I try to get a sew in weave to allow me some long flowing locks? Or shall I buy a full lace wig. I love my short hair but I”m not allowed to cut it really short and this mid-length is driving me nutso. I’m not sure if my hair is long enough in the back to get a weave. We’ll see. Oh it’s the important things in life huh?

Speaking of important though, it’s the beginning of September and I can’t believe how fast the months are flying.  I’ve been up and down emotionally lately and it seems to have no rhyme or reason. I’ll get really sensitive to something Dan says or someone at work or I’m just feeling insecure and get really down on myself, my body, my dancing, my ability to have a future.  So to address this general funk I’ve decided that September is a month of no complaints – not one will be uttered from my mouth or aknowledged outloud. Instead I will be affirming the things in my life that I appreciate and desire. I fully expect this to be a challenge.  But this is something I need to address. Dan brought it to my attention last night that I have a tendency to really focus on negativity – I will latch on to a semi-negative comment like it’s a life raft, I look for all the little things I can pick on about myself, others and him too. Like I’m always hunting for something to feel bad about. Well, it’s time to move past that so here is my September challenge – no complaints, no negative comments, if I feel one on the tongue I have to express a positive affirmation. 

To get me started I found some online. Here are 10 from a google search (from http://healingandlove.com):

1.) I am the architect of my life; I build its foundation and choose its contents.

2.) Today, I am brimming with energy and overflowing with joy.

3.) My body is healthy; my mind is brilliant; my soul is tranquil.

4.) I am superior to negative thoughts and low actions.

5.) I have been given endless talents which I begin to utilize today.

6.) I forgive those who have harmed me in my past and peacefully detach from them.

7.) A river of compassion washes away my anger and replaces it with love.

8.) I am guided in my every step by Spirit who leads me towards what I must know and do.

9.) (If you’re married) My marriage is becoming stronger, deeper, and more stable each day.

10.) I possess the qualities needed to be extremely successful.

Image

 

 

 

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on September 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

