aaaaaannnd…

I know. I’ve abandoned this blog for a while. It feels like inspiration comes in fits and starts lately.  I’m okay with that.  If I sit staring at this “new post” screen for more then five minutes I decide to save writing for another day. That’s just how it works for me.

But today the funk seems to have lifted briefly so I’m going to get on it!

I had a 2 day baking blitz. I don’t know what came over me but I spent hours two mornings in a row covered in flour and sugar and I was extremely happy.  I find baking like meditating and decorating cookies like painting.  However, I’m novice at best and, in the spirit of full disclosure, I didn’t so much as sample a bite or lick a spoon so I have no idea how they turned out.  I just like the physical process of doing. In fact I’m thinking a little more icing experimenting is in order today… we’ll see.

I have this fantasy, dating back from College years, that on top of my performing successes one day I will open a cafe where I will bake seasonal, healthy treats for and serve up good coffee and keep my huge book collection in tall cherry wood bookcases for the public to peruse, borrow and trade.  Of course, I don’t really want to do any of the admin work or start up so I think my dream really is to take over an already established and staffed cafe and be the owner/pastry chef – not that I’ve studied pastry at all. But my evolving knowledge of health as it pertains to food and, in particular, individual ingredients, coupled with my desire to bake, experiment and decorate leads me to believe I could do good work 🙂

Of course this is all after my Cirque du Soleil career, during my bearing and raising children and of course being a film/broadway star (or just employed as a performer regularly) who still trains and choreographs silks, trapeze, lyra and spanish web…

I truly believe I’m cultivating the fruition of all these dreams. Why shouldn’t I?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love love love baking! And sometimes wish that I could just quit the banking world and run my own coffee/bakery. 🙂
    I am with you on the bloggin thing, if I have nothing to type, I close her up. 🙂

  2. Wow! Your baking looks amazing! I too have dreams of running a cake shop… I think perhaps all us healthy folk have greedy fat people hidden away inside somewhere 😉

  3. hmmmm sounds like I could get a few fitness girls together for a healthy bakery!!! that would be fun – coffee, baked goods, talks of what program we’re doing…

Leave a Reply

