U-Turn – Edit’s in pink

Edited October 15

I’m probably not going to keep this short and sweet since I feel like I’ve been yammering on about food too much recently.

I’m not changing direction from Keto. Not wishy washy this time, it wasn’t a question, it’s a deliberate decision. I feel, the way I’ve been thinking about it is too restrictive for long term. and that really did need to change.

But since I’ve been in it for a while (with pretty good results) it’s the perfect time to test a different theory my body went back to it naturally after a full day of carbs that included oatmeal with raisins, frozen yogurt and apples🙂 Is this all really just calories in calories out? Do the macronutrients matter? I’m going to find out.

Now I’m just clean eating with a calorie goal, I want to just observe what I do naturally back to low carb. I was still tracking and it was clear that eating what I wanted still meant eating low carb. That’s it.  I still believe that I keep a very similar body composition, no matter what “diet” I’m on. It’s a theory, but a theory born of me looking at my pictures and knowing my body. And I still really want to stop “dieting” I want to live my life and eat healthily. The one thing (actually it gave me a few things) keto gave me was more energy. And I’m not going to lie, the day after I “gave up” on Keto Dan and I were talking about it and he mentioned how much nicer I was whilst eating high fat low carb – partially because I had energy, partially because I felt leaner from the no bloating aspect. I’d like to keep that but I’m wondering if that was due to the fat, the no grains (I have a sneaking suspicion I might be gluten intolerant at best and coeliac at worst), or the much higher protein. I don’t want to go back to exhaustion and fog. If that happens, I’ll be forced to reassess yet again. I reasessed. Quickly. I’m so impulsive. Something needed to change though as I plan to quite every week and then jump back on. So I’m going to plan that in.  I’m going to try that carb up idea that I’ve been resisting. It seems to work for me so well even when I’m not planning on doing it – ie. 1-2 days of higher carbs and then back to keto.  That’s what I did this time. 2 days off and then back on and I feel great – no fog, no fatigue, no bloating – I haven’t weighed myself but I don’t feel like I’m holding on to water weight.  Maybe that’s what I need a good, planned carb up every week? bi-weekly? I’m going to try bi weekly first. and I’m eating different foods like spaghetti squash, silken tofu blended with my protein powder to make a pudding, miracle noodles, quorn veggie mince, haloumi cheese- which is delicious!

But for now, I’m just going to eat. I’m going to eat healthy – vegetables, fruits, lean proteins, good fats like olive oil, avocado, dark chocolate and maybe some oats and quinoa, seeds… no macronutrient rules (grams of fat, protein, carb). No exclusions of fruit, soymilk, pumpkin and sweet potato on my carb up days. No eating cheese because I can’t raise my carb count unless that’s what I want! Just healthy eating.

I’ll let you know how it goes, but I think it’ll go over well 🙂 I make no assumptions at this point due to my fickle nature.

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on October 10, 2012, in FOOD. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. For me, calorie counting doesn’t work. I could eat 1200-1500 calories of the healthiest foods and not lose weight. But if I cut out all carbs and sugar and even eat 2000 calories, I will lose weight. Every body is different though. I think clean eating makes a big difference though, that’s the only difference when I did it, I didn’t eat clean.

    • that’s really good to know! I don’t hear from many people who did low carb. I did eat a lot more calories on keto but no carbs or sugar and held my lowest weight steady (didn’t lose weight after an initial 1kilogram). I do know that I was really helped by not eating sugar – I tend to be a sugar craver and can so easy eat 1/2 my bodyweight in sugar – be it dried fruit or actual candy.

Leave a Reply

