Rock it

Well my 30th was amazing! And I plan to tell you all about it…but not in this post.  In the next one 🙂

I hit the ground running today with Leangains and it means completely switching up what I’ve been doing – successfully I might add.  For the last 2 years I’ve wanted to lose muscle and weight, as in, I want to be lighter and smaller.  I know I’m a small person already but for the job I want to be doing, for the roles I want, I felt I was too heavy, albeit muscle; and too bulky.  So I ran and did bodyweight and Visual impact and yoga and clean eating and vegetarian and cut out diet coke.

Now, I am still trying to get leaner, but I want to get that really lean athletic look with the strength and endurance I need for dance and aerial work.  Leangains is a form of Intermittent Fasting.  I’ve toyed with both Eat Stop Eat and the Warrior Diet.  ESE, I never completed a full 24 hours – I guess it’s not for me, or it’s not right now.  The Warrior Diet I used while I was traveling for the most part and I really like it.  It means I can eat out with family and not worry about missing workouts while on the road.  Leangains is 16 hour fast / 8 hour eating window and I don’t find that too hard. And I’m looking forward to fasted training.  But the biggest change is doing 3 days of The Big 3 workout – barbell squats, bench press, deadlifts.  That’s weights again and a lot of legs – the one area I am always working to shrink.  But I’m going to try this radical change because it’s time for a change. I’m at a different place and I’d like to hit some upcoming stunt and aerial auditions with maximum strength and minimum bodyfat.  So, I’m a little nervous but I did my first barbell workout today!  It feels like I didn’t workout hard enough but we’ll see how I feel when I wake up tomorrow – hopefully I’m sore.  And, even though Martin Birkhan doesn’t reccommend it, I’m keeping my long, hourlong runs.  Why? for a few reasons – 1. I love them, they make me feel good and that’s a good enough reason 2. I’m working on low carb running to switch my body to fat burning for endurance purposes – days off lifting are supposed to be low carb so this works perfect 3. I really, truly believe that running is helping me to sing better.  and while singing is not my main skill, thats just it, it’s not my main skill and really needs work.  Right now I’m rehearsing for a show that’s quite challenging for me because it’s a lot of singing and some solo (eek!) and the long slow running really helps me with the breathing and just strength.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that’s my plain – leangains eating, big 3 lifting 3x’s a week, long slow runs 2-3x’s a week

Killed it today – tomorrow is a long run 🙂

What are y’all up to?

  Not too shabby – post birthday, light weight…it’s been a while

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Fitness, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey! I have never heard of leangain?? You go! I think it’s super cool that you are a dancer :). I would be dancing around everywhere! You have worked hard for a stomach like that! That is what I see when I look in the mirror! It really is. I’m not joking. :). Lol :). Good luck with your plan! Have a super day :).

Leave a Reply

