Bring it On

I am so excited! This is my birthday weekend – if you know me at all you know I’m ga ga over birthdays (and holidays in general) and this one is even more special then usual.  I don’t know why I’m so excited to turn 30 but I am. Perhaps it’s because Dan is absolutely spoiling me and catering to my birthday love by whisking me away to a shi shi romantic hotel overlooking the Yarra River.  I feel like I’m getting the princess treatment and I don’t know what to do with myself.  Always having prided myself on being a tomboy I would have never admitted to wanting to be “whisked” before but, man, I’m stoked. I picked out a dress, I’m planning to actually do my hair and wear sexy tights and mile high heels.  Usually this only happens when I’m in a show.  I think it’s so cool – he said it’s my 30th not just any birthday so we’re celebrating! This hotel is more expensive then I’ve ever seen the inside of and he insists we’ll be drinking champagne- eeeee! I’m going to have to paint my nails for this.

Also, I think 30 feels right to me.  I never felt like much like a teenager – that age group is still like a mythical phenomenon that I wish I understood. When I see teenagers walking around I get awkward, I don’t understand how to interact with them – I still act like the nerd hoping to understand how the cool kids got to be so cool and self confident and so good at doing their own hair.  I can’t just chill and have fun, I feel this dark bent to seriousness and understanding the weight of life and love and loss.  That doesn’t make it easy to “hang out”, go shopping, party, pursue wild dreams. Young adulthood felt similarly foreign, like I was perpetually pretending to be young while feeling the burden of Atlas to find my place in the world.  I think I’ve felt 30+ since I was about 8 years old and I can’t wait to reside in my element. I feel like my 30’s are that magical crossroads I’ve been waiting for where I’ve finally grown into my skin and my brain (one always seemed to playing catch up then falling behind).  I feel like I can make action out of thought so much quicker now, that I can take disappointment as it comes and keep rolling forward. I feel like I’m loved in a way I’ve never known before.  I have an actual understanding of how to conduct my finances and the knowledge that while, money isn’t everything, money gives you the control over your life and your choices in a very important way – and I want that. Finally, I feel more beautiful then ever. Who knew.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring on my “Dirty 30” (coined by Dan). I’m ready to celebrate. For. A. Whole. Year.

and when I get back from princess land, I’m going to be starting to follow Marten Birkhans Leangains protocol.  I’ve been reading about it for a few years and I’m ready to give it a shot.  It’ll scale down but make my workouts more specific.  I’ll still be doing at least 2 distance hour + runs a week (I’m loving my jogging time).  I want to see how far this can take me and how much I can do with my extra time not spent working out too.  Anyone done Leangains? or something similar?  Anyone have advice from their 30’s??

Lots of Love!

Crista

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Fitness, holiday, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Crista, you’re freakin awesome! I love this post! I hope you have an amazing birthday weekend! 🙂 P.S. I totally felt the same way and sometimes still feel that way around teens. 😉 P.S.S. I hope this posts, cause I have been trying to post on your blog for a bit now, with no such luck. 😦 Happy Happy 30th birthday!!

  2. Hello! I was browsing “fitness” and came across your amazing blog! Congratulations on your 30th…coincidentally, we also celebrated my husband’s 30th on Saturday (he didn’t look as glamorous as you, though!) Hope you had a wonderful celebration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

