Getting Warmer

I donned my dance tights underneath my compression leggings today before setting out for a cool 7 miles. The tights seemed to make all the difference! I’m going to need to invest in a lot more, they really do the trick, whether under my jeans, dresses, sweatpants or compression leggings.

I have the luxury of being in a position to play with my diet, sleep patterns, workout styles right now to find a good fit. I’ve been doing a lot of online research. I don’t know why I have a desire to work towards Ultra distances as I have never even participated in a marathon. I ran one half-marathon that left me feeling depleted and I stopped running for several months. But I just know distance is my goal. I like running slow and steady, I like practicing patience (and I find it valuable). I downloaded “Slow-burn”‘ by Stu Mittleman to read on iPod and man, I am powering through it! I originally was interested in reading it because I was researching  how to switch your body to fat burning instead of glucose burning – not solely through diet.  I’ve been curious about it for years, but being vegetarian and mostly vegan I didn’t know how to go about it. Also, being such an amateur runner I didn’t know if I could achieve that at all.  But now I’m interested not just for running sake but for overall endurance.  Stu is mostly vegetarian, although he eats fish, but his book is about how to switch to fat burning mode (and actually, a lot more) for endurance exercise.  Has anyone read this book? I’m about halfway through just tonight and I’m devouring it!

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

