Back in Black

It is so cold! This is officially the coldest July I have ever known! Living in year round summer for 2 years in Singapore and for the most part for 5 years in LA I have only, briefly, visited winter.  I am not accustomed! How do people function on the daily in the cold weather – I really must know as we’re planning to live in NYC and hear it’s no spring picnic for about 5 months out of the year.

However, I still got a nice 5+ mile run in today.  I didn’t want to get out of bed, which I’m noticing is a theme. The air is too cold and by the time I put my running clothes on I’m freezing and nothing warms me up – except running.  So I got going and it actually warmed up a bit today.

Other theme’s: I’m drinking my coffee black. Which is gross. But I want it for some reason. And red wine. I secured two cheap bottles of Shiraz that I’m planning on taking down this week. ANd I have absolutely no desire for fruit. Not even my beloved, 3 times a day usually, bananas.  Must be the cold weather.

Fortunately for us starving artists, Dan’s parents have a freezer choc full of food they’re trying to get rid of since they bought a new fridge/freezer thingy.  We’re pillaging that thing nightly and it’s like an endless bounty of frozen vegetables (like 2 whole shelves) for me and then millions of square aluminium wrapped surprises for Dan (lasagne, pasta bakes, sausage rolls, meatloaf).  He gets a surprise every night, whatever brick we unwrap and I get to pour my choice of veggie blend into a frying pan and I’ve been adding a can of white beans or whatever can of beans I can find.  Sometimes with an egg.  It’s amazing, I have no idea how I can ever repay them! If you’ve ever been in constant transit, like me, and worry over finances, a free for all freezer is like, the best gift you can imagine.

Which brings me to the next point.  I have spent most of 2012 worrying about where our career is going to go, how we’re going to make our livelihood, how we’ll pay our bills, how we’ll stay together, where we will have to go, how we’re going to become the famous performers I know we’re destined to be.  But today on my run I just kept thinking how lucky and grateful I am. Except for a very short period of time, where my need to work was fulfilled, Dan and I haven’t had to be apart. I’ve seen 3 countries just since January (Australia, New Zealand, China), I’ve gotten to dance again and do some recording in a studio, I’ve gotten to know Dan’s family and friends in a close way that I never would have been able to from far away, I’ve spent every holiday with family – which is more then I can say for the last 12 years of my life. I am so very lucky and to think, this is the bottom for us! Things are moving forward (upward and onward) and while Dan and I both feel incredibly antsy to get going – wow, we’re so lucky.

How are you feeling 6 months into 2012? Are you where you thought you’d be? Any unexpected gifts? Things to be grateful for?

I’m ready to sign up for a race so I’m starting my search now.  I’ll be visiting in Melbourne until September so if anyone is doing an Australian race let me know!

xx,Crista

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Fitness, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It was a cold July in Spokane until this last weekend when summer finally decided to appear. Now it’s nice and hot and I am not going to complain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

