Guess Who

Guess who’s almost thirty and still kicking ass?!!

This guy (erm, girl!)

This is me today even though I thought I was waaaay too cold to workout.  I didn’t diet in China – on the contrary, I ate a lot of what I wanted.  I stayed pretty healthy but I ate a lot of hawthorne candy, honey (there was a day that I realized I’d had 1/2 a jar of honey, just that day), roasted soybeans and drank a lot of coffee. I’m not saying you don’t have to watch your diet but I’m saying I proved to myself, finally, that I don’t have to be anorexic or count calories to be in good shape.  I also credit my shape to effectively kicking the diet coke habit. That’s not to say I didn’t have one here or there – full disclosure, I did, but a handful throughout the whole contract. ANd I realized that diet coke / coke zero is a psychological habit.  I don’t even like the taste and it always hurts my stomach.  But knowing I could have it sometimes if I really want it works for me too.

I’m not in perfect shape, but I feel pretty good.  I’m running 5 miles regularly, like 3 times a week.  I’m doing abs and yoga twice a week, most weeks.  And I’m happy.

I’m happy to be back, albeit sooner then I expected.  I didn’t realize how hard it would be to be away from Dan. I’m quite the miss independence in general, I like my freedom even in relationships.  I’m the one who puts the career foot down, I get out of bed and snuggle time to make sure I fit my run in.  But I can do all that with Dan because he’s both – focused on career and relationship, he doesn’t ask me to choose.  And yet being away was dreadful.  I have so much respect and awe for people who do real long distance time, you’re amazing and should be so proud of your relationship. I never doubted that we were solid but that made it almost worse.  We promised, never again.  Of course the complication to this is that he’s Australian and I’m American, but we’ll figure it out.

As far as workouts, I’m sticking with the running now that I seem to finally have found the enjoyment in it. I’m stoked that I actually look forward to my runs. 4-6 miles a pop feels like long distance to me and I am going to be pushing over the next month to move that to 6-9 miles and then more! I’ll be looking for a race to sign up for too.  Everything else has taken a backseat and though I was worried about letting my strength training go, I’ve really liked the changes in my body.  I can still pump out push ups and v-ups even if my pull ups aren’t present anymore.  I make sure to get yoga and abripper or a bodyrock circuit in 1-3 times a week.

My muscles are still the first thing people point out when I meet them, something I’m both proud and embarrassed of.  It was a blessing in Asia to not be considered attractive by the men when we were in the seedier of places but it also hit on my insecurities a little bit as they pointed out the other girls beautiful shapes, boobs, hair and the men all wanted to squeeze my bicep, the woman wanted to express their sadness at my short hair cut. There are days I feel beautiful, but often when I’m around other girls I really feel overly man-ish. It’s something I’m working on.

So now I’m excited for the next phase! I’m back and so we really have to make some big decisions regarding our careers and where we are going to live and I’m turning 30 on July 16th 🙂 I can’t wait, I’ve been looking forward to it for so long. I’m also hoping to be writing more and getting more involved with Fit Approach and my fellow Sweat Pink Ambassadors!!!

Here’s to the next chapter – the good life! Who’s with me?

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Fitness, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You have a beautiful strong body! I myself am working on STRONG:) Happy early birthday. The 30’s ROCK!!

  2. I definitely get the image thang. Chopped all my hair off last fall and it’s taking forEVER to grow back. Between that and my small chest people think I’m 15 on a regular basis, it can be hard to feel like a hot tamale sometimes. So I decided I’m finding burlesque classes around me. Proving harder than I thought but I’m on a mission dammit! A mission to be a sex ba-bomb.

    • so much in common! I chopped off my hair and am now in the process of waiting for it to grow out! Let me know how the burlesque class goes!!! I used to teach a strip tease/lap dance class just for women – it was so much fun and it’s good practice for feeling sexy 24/7. I’m with you, I’m on a mission to be a sex-bomb too booyah!

Leave a Reply

