Today’s Workout: 4mi run + 70 min walk

I got lost!  I took my time exploring during my 4 miler and despite my best efforts to keep my bearings, I got all caught up in following a little river I’d found and then I couldn’t find my landmarks!  Just over an hour of walking later I spotted my landmark building.  I still call this a win as I got a great workout, a good stretching walk AND did find my way back home (eventually).

However, the lesson was not lost on me.  I consider myself a competent traveller and I even pride myself on my ability to workout wherever I am, in any situation.  But I was humbled when I realized I can’t speak chinese other then a few elementary words, I didn’t bring the address of my hotel, I have no idea the street it’s located on…the list could go on but effectively I was screwed if I didn’t find my way back.  It occurred to me what an amatuer move it had been to bound out the door this morning with no insurance of getting back.  I did bring money so I could have paid a taxi but I had no way to tell them where to take me! So here’s the lesson, I need to carry the business card (that ironicaly, I have been given) with our hotel address on it and put the phone number of our agent/manager in my contacts.  And not stray so far if I don’t know how to get back.

It’s true what they say, you never stop learning.

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Am so glad that you made it back safely. Whew!!

  2. I read this yesterday on my cell phone! I don’t know what I would have done if I couldn’t find my way back! I was on a mission trip in Kazakhstan back in 2010 and one of the things that we were able to experience was being left in the market to see what it actually felt like to be a missionary in another country. It was a little scary at first, but exciting!
    Good idea about carrying the card! 🙂 Have a great night!

  3. Argh I hate getting lost, especially on a run …..even worse if you end up running longer than you’d planned b/c of it 😉

Leave a Reply

