Getting Settled

Today’s Workout: Easy 3 mile run

Yeah, that’s right, I ran outside today!  After three seemingly grueling days of flying, rehearsing, photo shoots and shows, today is the first day with nothing scheduled but shows.  Our schedule for now is rehearsal, warm up, blocking at 7pm then shows start 10:30 and finish at 2:30am, get home around 3 or 3:15.  It’s a great schedule but with all the running around, extra rehearsals, photo shoot, meeting new people it was a scramble the last two days of shows and all us dancers felt drained.  I’ve been waking up after 2-3 hours of sleep frustratingly so I have done short workouts everyday mostly to keep my body from tightening but by last night I was toast.  Today after getting that recommended 8 hours of sleep and waking up at noon I felt like a new woman!  My roommate suggested today might be a good day for a jog and she was right.  3 easy miles and they felt good. My ipod was dead but it didn’t matter, there’s so much to look at! It isn’t a running culture here and we’re definitely the only westerners around so I looked totally out of place running on broken sidewalks and doing my best to understand the crosswalks.  It was a blast and I feel rejuvinated. This is going to work 🙂  Yesterday I took my abripper x and yoga dvd out to the hotel landing and while I was crunching away some little old ladies came out and stared. I thought I might be a little bit rude working out in public but she said “Hern Hau!” and I know enough chinese to know that means “Very good!”.  I was ecstatic and replied with my best chinese thank you 🙂

Although I’ve lived/worked abroad before I’ve never lived in a place that didn’t speak at least some english. Until now. It’s really great to get a feeling of really being a foreigner.  I can’t figure out how to ask for what I want at the supermarket and I just can’t get anyone to understand that I’m trying to buy a prepaid phone card even when I go into the shop and show them my phone and previous phone card.  I am surprisingly doing pretty well remembering new words and phrases but asking for something specific is harder then I imagined.  I think I’m really going to come back with some good Chinese language skills! I’m so stoked!

All in all, I’m more excited about this opportunity then I was even when I left. I love the girls I’m working and living with, I really adore the vibe of the city we’re in and I’m enjoying doing nightly shows again, it’s been a while.  And while I do really miss Dan – he’s my one and only person, there would be so much to experience if we were here together – I think that this is a good chance to really show each other our love.  It’s not that we’re apart, we’re still together, this is part of our relationship and one I think we’ll look back on fondly.  I just don’t take for granted how beautiful it is to sleep next to the man I love and share those waking and dreaming states, I don’t forget how wonderful it is to hold hands with someone when you walk to the grocery store.  And now that we can’t do those things, I really savor the emails I get, the text messages, and the skype sessions we’ve had/will be able to have.

 My baby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In other news, one of my Sweat Pink sisters and one of my fave running bloggers has designed is selling her very own running shirt!!  Check it out, it’s totally cute and has a fun message!  Check her out and get “Chicking” 🙂  oh and while you’re there, you might fall in love with her blog like I did.

All in all it’s good times over here! I have so much blog stalking I want to do, I still haven’t had time to really get to know all the Sweat Pink girls and their blogs and I’m anxious to!  Oh and here’s a little update – I still haven’t had a Diet Coke! This is the longest time I’ve gone without falling off the wagon!  Perhaps the dehydration I’ve been feeling helps me abstain, or perhaps it’s the fact that I still haven’t figured out how to use squatty potties without peeing on my leg that has kept me from grabbing and easy Coke Zero here and there (the less I drink the more likely I am to make it home to use a “western” style toilet), or maybe it’s just that I see the value in sticking to my guns – lets be honest, it’s mostly that I’m liking not spending the money 2-3 times a day.

Okay, signing off now 🙂

 

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. WOMAN!!! your LEGS!!! owwwww sexy!!!

  2. Carry some handy wipes, helps with squatty-potty mishaps 🙂

  3. I reallllly gotta get my butt back outside to run, I have been loving my treadmill lately (weird for sURE!)

  4. dang girl, check out dem running legs…u be looking hot! 🙂 so many comments i have here, i’ll try not to be epic: i love reading the peeks into wat it’s like to be a dancer because i’ve always really been in awe of u guys and it’s such an interesting world/culture. i seriously can’t believe how in the world u do it…those days are cray cray! i’m glad u were able to sleep in FINALLY and now feel back to a human person…hehe. onto ur running, u little rock star keep it up, and even cooler u’re inspiring even the geriatrics to maybe get fit…i think brownie ambassador points?? 😉 as for the BF, u guys are way too cute and i think this whole thing only proves how strong u guys are. finally, THANK YOU times a million…not just for the shout out to my shirts but for saying i’m one of ur fav. bloggers. i don’t dole this out to many so take this genuinely: it goes both ways. have a great rest of the weekend! 🙂

  5. Oh my gosh I can’t stand it when I don’t get enough sleep, I turn into a crazy person.

    LOVE your photo, you are gorgeous!!

  6. Bless your heart! I am so glad that you were able to get some sleep. 🙂 Aaaand, glad that you were able to get a run in.

  7. What a fun experience to be a complete foreigner – I’m sure you’re racking up all sorts of stories! 🙂

    And your take on being apart is so. sweet. Aww. Here’s to absence making the heart fonder!

  8. I love your attitude! Someone else might feel overwhelmed in your same situation, but you’re looking at it as a new adventure. Yay!

Leave a Reply

