The Big Reveal

As a blogger and fitness lover I look for other sites and companies whose mission statement I align with.  There’s so much out there and so many different aspects of health and fitness to be covered.  I’m sure it’s many a fit chicks dream to be linked with an idol company.

Well, this fit chicks dream has been realized!  A few weeks ago I noticed one of my favorite fitness sites “Fit Approach” was accepting applications for ambassadors – “Sweat Pink” ambassadors- and I sent mine in.  I had contemplated applying to be an ambassador before, there are many different things you can represent from brands of shoes, nutrition supplements, even chocolate milk! I travel and meet so many new people a year, many of whom are fitness minded or full of questions about leading a healthy, fit, happy life. It’s both lonely and exciting to meet so many new faces and as an ambassador I feel like I could have a network of like minded people, a mission statement to point to. But there wasn’t anything I’d found yet that I felt I could personally align with.

I read a Fit Approach post after Alyse commented on my blog a few months ago and immediately knew I’d found a blog I could relate to.  Fit Approach is co-owned by cousins Jamie and Alyse whose fitness range is vast between the two of them.  I loved the way they seemed so accessible and normal. I loved that the site, along with the fitness bootcamps and yoga classes, was born out of a joint love of fitness and helping other people.  Jamie is an ultrarunner – something I’m desperately curious about even though 10k’s make me uncomfortable right now.  Alyse is a dancer turned yogi – I’m a dancer who’s just started to immerse myself into yoga.  I find their whole site, their array of contributors to cover such a variety of topics from encouraging, motivating and dare I say “go girl” fitness posts to plateau frustration, food woes and child raising worries. This is a site I wanted to be connected to. Most importantly I was reeled in by their mission statement (and lets be honest any site that can drop “ass” in the mission statement has my vote).

“Mission

We believe that kicking ass is best done in pretty shoes. We’ve learned that real women sweat, and sweat hard. We know that assertiveness, strength, and ambition are the ultimate feminine qualities. We concede that sometimes it takes hours to get ready, but we’re also no strangers to just rolling out of bed and going. We’re convinced that we run faster in pink shoelaces. We believe in pushing ourselves, and we believe in giving ourselves a break, too. We’re all about the rush of endorphins and the thrill of the challenge. We’re all for looking great and feeling even better. We’re committed to finding our best fit, and making it stick.

How do we get there?
We climb.
We journey.
We balance.
We reward.”

Now that is something I can get behind! And, I am!  I am now an official “Sweat Pink” Ambassador! Watch out for pictures of me sweating in my pink shoelaces and tank top!  Sweat with me please so I can send you matching shoelaces (details to come)!

That’s not all! I am proud to be a contributor to Fit Approach! Check out my first post and let me know if you can relate! I’m so excited about this opportunity to write, workout as a group (even when I’m physically alone) and to get involved with a really amazing group of women.  Join me, join us! Check out the Fit Approach Facebook Page, Twitter and of course website… Who’s with me?! Oh and if you’re lucky enough to be in California (San Fran) check out one of Jamie’s bootcamps and/or a yoga class and tell me all about it 🙂

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Proud of you. Love.

  2. Congrats on being an ambassador! 🙂 It’s always nice to find something you can stand behind like that… all for the greater good, right?

  3. Thanks, Crista! This post made my day 🙂 I’m so excited that you’re sweating pink with us – I remember when I first came across your blog and thought “Wow, this chick is so freaking cool. She’s a professional dancer, she’s so gorgeous, and she’s doing all these amazing things.”

    So happy to have you on board as an ambassador! 🙂

    • YES – I totally second that! I’m obsessed with the fact that you’re a professional dancer AND do aerial dace. SO COOL.

    • aw shucks, you’re making me blush pink 🙂 I’m so stoked to be an ambassador, I’ve loved your site from day one! I love that you encourage the fact that fierce is sexy and feminine and that girly pink can even make you more fierce!!

Leave a Reply

