Sun Salutations

I never used to be a morning exerciser. I’m not really a morning person. I don’t need to blame this on an entertainers life because it started as a wee babe but perhaps the performing life was more my style partly because of my time preferences. I’m not NOT a morning person though. I’m annoyingly chipper and happy when I wake up (ask my best friend who had to live with me for several years and still must share rooms with me when we visit) and for some reason I just want to chatter. But I’m not enthused for exercise.  I’d rather have a nice cup of coffee and squeeze my workout in on lunch break or after work. I adore night running and night dance classes.

However lately, because of scheduling or just sheer wanting to hang out with Dan, it seems if I don’t get my workout done before he wakes it’s probably not going to happen. This will not always be the case. We’re in a very unique situation that wasn’t supposed to last quite so long and it won’t last much longer so I’m enjoying the extra time together. And I’m finding that, once I get past the initial “ugh” moment of going from bed to treadmill or Tony Hortons cheery voice that I really like the way my body feels working out first thing! After a bit of a warm up period I seem to get a surge of energy and once I’m done I feel like I have conquered the day.

All this just seems to prove my theory that you can embrace whatever your situation is on a day to day basis and really make it work for you. I’m still loving (and repeating) that Eckart Tolle quote “Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it.Always work with it, not against it. Make it your friend and ally, not your enemy.” I’m actively trying to apply this idea to the more difficult aspects of life 😉

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on March 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. okay, u are WAY too cute there in that pic!! 🙂 i’m a total morning worker-outer…in fact i get really grumpy and annoyed UNTIL i get my workout in…lol. but i’m also like u and tend to err on the annoyingly chipper side quite a bit. 🙂

    • ah you’re so sweet!! I think I may jump on your morning workout train, it really sets my attitude for the rest of the day! he he, I totally annoy everyone in the morning – we’d be great travel buddies 😉

  2. The hardest part of mornings workouts is the first 10 minutes of being up. So I totally understand why most people resist it. However, you’re right- it’s a great feeling to be done and energized before the rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

