Debate

I guess I’m in a thoughtful mood lately. I have another article for you to chew on if you’re so inclined. This is a Huffington Post debate on whether yoga is Hindu. Tara Stiles lends her opinion as well as a Hindu woman. Read on if you’re interested. If nothing else I like thinking about the different opinions on it.

As for me, I had a great, relaxing free day.  Free day’s are like this, because I was having some health issues related to my overconsumption of candy and sugar I decided to go back to having one free day a week. During the week I eat really clean – not a diet, I don’t count calories or control portions. I eat really basic whole foods – no candy, no stupid little snacks like crackers, pretzels. I don’t eat cheese or cookies or dried fruit or processed things. I feel really healthy, I’ve been doing this for about a month. As a result I eat a lot of a very small list of foods – gads of fruit (preferably frozen!!), oats with soymilk, salads, roasted vegetables with tomato sauce, vegetable soups, veggie burger patties, raw sunflower seeds, raw carrots. Sometimes I eat eggs or whole wheat bread for sandwiches or orange juice when I’m desperate but not often. I feel like I’m eating ALL the time but I have so much energy, I feel really good. Starting at midnight Sunday is my free day, I can eat anything. And I do mean anything, all day. I love it. And while cutting down on sugar is good for your health, there are studies I’ve read about how sweet foods and fatty foods calm stress levels. I’m a believer.

We have a really busy week coming up so we just stayed home today. I got my workout done first thing. I tried that Pilates DVD I had bought 2 weeks ago – it was BORING. But I finished it. I’ll probably never do it again but I will for sure incorporate a few of the crunch variations into my ab workouts. I didn’t feel like I’d worked very much. But I was at a loss as to what to do, I’d already jogged and done intervals yesterday. I decided to do the P90X Kenpo workout. This is weird for me. Even when I was religiously doing the P90X program I actually only did the Kenpo workout once. Its kind of like a boxing workout and I, like my trainer/exboyfriend, didn’t think it’d be as beneficial as cardio so we used to just hop on the treadmill on Kenpo days.  But I need to shake it up a little.  I popped it in and regretted it for the first 20 minutes, then some how I miraculously got the groove and started LOVING it. I tried to imagine I was defending myself from ninja’s, which is awesome. I think I’ll have to put Kenpo into the rotation.

And soon I should try out Tracey Anderson….

The rest of the day was a dream, Dan and I laid next to each other in our comfy clothes while I watched Desperate Housewives and Private Practice on my computer and he did boy stuff on his. It was marvelous and lazy.  We went out for dinner and now we’re both back in position – watching a movie (League of Extraordinary Gentlemen) whilst both on our laptops. That’s geeky romance right there.

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

