Did it

And we’re back people! A nice 6 miler under my belt, up to old speed. It felt good.

What I’ve learned:

1. I’m not in a treadmill mindset right now. Get me outside in this beautiful Australian weather – wind, fresh air- with the gorgeous green birds, butterflies and kangaroos running about, and I’m good to go. Now. Its so funny how I go back and forth. I’d love one day to join a running group. I’ve never run with other people except in races and a few times with a friend of mine. He always smoked me though so I’d just follow waaaay behind and meet him later. Like an hour later <hangs head>

2. I am not really sport motivated as much as I am music motivated. I always forget this. I spent the best part of my childhood competing in sports before I started competing in dance competitions. I was a competitive swimmer every summer for 10 years as well as a competitive soccer player, diver, gymnast. Something was always missing. I loved competing, I didn’t always love training but, like everyone else, I loved results and the sense of accomplishment after a good sweat. Do you know what I used to do to get myself to push faster when I thought I couldn’t push anymore during 100M butterfly? I’d sing underwater a song that was faster then the current rhythm of my strokes (probs sounded funny to the other swimmers). Music. I downloaded just 3 new songs and I was rapt!

3. I don’t hydrate and I need to. I started to feel like crap at 4.6 miles. Then my lip cracked and I thought back to what I’d poured down my throat today – green tea, green tea, soy latte, diet coke… notice anything missing? I arrived home 6 miles and a decent walk back later and I’ve been sucking down water since.

4. I start to feel weary around 5 miles. Now that I’ll be looking at longer runs 7-13 coming up I think I’m going to have to start messing with running fuel. I’ve never really carried water and I never ate anything during runs until the half marathon. Not training just the actual event. I wore a hydration backpack for the first time during the race and I even ate a gel! It was in Singapore (think Equator) and I’d carried the gel in my sports bra for 8 miles. It was like really hot chocolate pudding and I nearly choked on it. I also accepted a 1/4 of a banana 2 miles from the finish, lol, it feels weird to run and chew!  I’m not sure, i don’t really want to do gels and since I’m not a serious runner doing serious speed, I’ll try just starting to carry that hydration pack with water or maybe gatorade. In Singapore I carried change in my wrist wrap and at 5 miles I’d buy a gatorade, use the bathroom at the Esplanade and then run back home. It was perfect. I’ll keep you posted

How was your day?

I got to do a running photo shoot last year with a brilliant photog – Rob Spence. He was building his portofolio for a project at the time I got to benefit 🙂

 

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

