Traction

Good things are happening here people 🙂

I love having a plan and feeling the benefits right away. Call me a typical American but there is nothing like speedy gratification to keep you committed early in the game. Perhaps its just my scheduling, controlling, some might say “anal retentive” personality that geeks out over plans and boundaries but I’m totally okay with that.  It’s Thursday and I haven’t gone through the sugar shakes yet. Goodbye chocolate chips, I don’t need you anymore (for a while, but don’t go very far).

I really feel like having the HIIT treadmill work is actually going to help my ability to start doing the longer runs. It’s nice to have that every other day. 20 minutes of fast and slow makes the time fly by and allows me to get a little competitive with myself. Today is just a run and abs day. I’m looking forward to it. Although, I can barely move my neck and back so I’m also a little nervous as to how THATS going to feel with the bouncing.

I took 2 dance classes yesterday and they were awesome. The last one had us doing choreography from A Chorus Line. I like to pretend every class is an audition right now because the point of me taking class is to brush up my basic techniques and practice for auditions. The hardest part about auditions is keeping your stamina up to show em what you got to the bitter end. They are exhausting. So I’m “auditioning” the Chorus Line choreography last night and I guess I really got into the big 80’s movements and whipped my head and neck right into overextension. Immediately I could feel it all seize up, but it was worth it. Because then I could pretend it happened during an audition (practice makes permanence you know) so I just danced right through it. Today I have an appropriate amount of pain. Time for a big stretch and a run. If it had been an audition chances are I would have had call backs the same week. No time for sissy’s! However, ibuprofen might be in order before my dance classes tonight…

Hey I’m having a little creative blockage for posts. Hopefully the run today will help but I thought I’d ask, anything specific you’re curious about or would like me to write about? Let me know, I like to oblige!

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Fitness, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. IB is a heaven send! 🙂 but seriously, i hope u’re neck is feeling better!!

    i can’t really offer much insight to the dancing, but as for the running, definitely keep up the intervals because u’re right, it will help build ur conditioning and translate over to the longer, endurance runs. keep sticking to gradually upping the length of the long runs and they will continue to feel better…slow and steady building. 🙂

    hope u’re night goes great!

Leave a Reply

