Rest Day

Today I woke up and knew I needed a rest day. I’m not exhausted or too sore to move, my legs just feel tight and I want to take 2 lyrical jazz classes tonight. I need a good stretch out and to lose myself in music and choreography.  One thing I’m learning through a continuous relationship with fitness is that fitting a mold or being inflexible with a training program is a fast track to burnout or injury for me.  I don’t feel like the pump that comes with a good bodyrock workout today, so I’ll save it for tomorrow.  And I must admit I’m still on a bit of a running high from the other night. I kind of want to run today but my desire to feel really flexi for dance tonight wins.  I’m going to run tomorrow 🙂

So I thought I’d tell you a little about our vacay to Hall’s Gap!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We stayed with Dan’s 98year old Gran in her house. It’s gorgeous!! Built and covering two plots of land it includes a main house, a tin shed, a wood shed, an out house, plum trees, fig trees, a front garden and overlooks a once gushing creek. It’s middle of summer here so it’s quite dry now.  We came during the summer holiday season so there’s people camping across the street at the base of these beautiful mountains.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was so cool to go on hikes/walks with Dan’s Dad who grew up coming to the Gap regularly, who knows many of the trails and can point out differences over time.  I couldn’t believe we never ran into a snake as I heard a few pretty crazy stories about them… except for this one he he he

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did however see a ton of kangaroos and wallabees!! FINALLY! I’ve been here 3 weeks now and nary a roo seen.  And then bam, they’re hopping right in front of me! and we saw two kid roos boxing each other, must’ve been brothers 😉

They’re actually kind of scary when they’re not behind a fence at the zoo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ran into a few acidnas, porcupine-like creatures. They waddle and stick their long snout into the dirt to dig for food. So cute!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and the brightly colored birds! Amazing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh yeah and skinks! They’re little lizards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s so awesome to get to experience so many different places, different animals and terrain. I have to say the last 2 years of my life have really expanded my horizons…

 

 

 

 

 

What’s next? Where to?

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on January 17, 2012, in holiday, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kangaroos! Omg… I don’t know what I’d do if I ran across one in the wild… even small deer scare the crap out of me!

  2. Sounds like you’re having an INCREDIBLY adventurous, fun and enlightening experience!! SOOOO HAPPY for you!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

