Done and Dusted

We just got back from our trip to Hall’s Gap a few hours ago and it was AMAZING!!! I can’t wait to get these pictures uploaded, edited and onto the blog.    I got to meet Dan’s 98 year old Gran, we hiked all over the place (gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!), saw kangaroos, akidnas and tons of little skinks (will explain all to the non-aussies later) and I relearned how to play Gin Rummy.

BUT this post is to say that although I haven’t trained, haven’t put in more then a skimpy 3 mile jog in the last month and hiked 15 miles yesterday, I still completed my Nike+ Half Marathon today 🙂 I am amazing, though I may have cheated a little bit. I hadn’t known where I was going to be when I signed up for the half marathon but since you can do it anywhere I thought it was a great idea. What I didn’t think through was that I wasn’t training for it. At all.  I’ve been traveling since November 16th. I’ve been in 7 different houses in 7 different beds since then (all with Dan though, lest I start a rumor). I’ve still been working out as you can tell but my workouts have been flexible to my situation.  And I started taking dance classes again, my diet is all over the place.  Then, I knew the half was coming up and I thought I’d just walk it since I hadn’t been training.  Last minute we got the opportunity to go visit his Gran and you never know how often you’ll get those opportunities…we couldn’t pass it up. What I didn’t know is that we’d be hiking and how beautiful and how great those hikes would be (we didn’t bring Gran, don’t worry). Just for kicks I put on my Nike band and recorded our hikes yesterday. And today. I thought if I got home and still had energy I’d walk the half.  After the 15 miler yesterday we settled with what ended up being a 7 mile hike today, band on.  When we drove home I decided to buckle down, put my big girl pantys on and just jog out this half marathon no matter how long it took me. Armed with my laptop and Season 4 of Greys anatomy I busted out laborious but all run 10k!!!  I plugged in my band and realized it counted the hike and my 10k towards the half-marathon mileage!!!  For a split second I felt the urge to get back on for another 10k and run the whole damn thing. And then I woke up 🙂 I finished my challenge and I got back on the running horse, cold turkey.  I just proved to myself I am fit enough to just pick up and run a 10k so I should stop being a wuss and add a few 10ks to my training again and maybe a long run here and there. that or all the chia I dumped in my water turned me into a runner….

Moral of the story, I’m sweaty and I feel good, I finally didn’t waste my half-marathon entry fee. This was a way better experience (and completely different) then my last halfie.  I think I should sign up for a real one 🙂  Okay, shower time, I stink and I’m tired (and look it’s those compression leggings again – still not washed!). and tomorrow I get to dance again!!! and bodyrock if I don’t wake up with dead legs…

Teaser action shot from the weekend…

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on January 15, 2012, in Fitness, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

