Boxing Day!

  Happy Boxing Day! I’m in Australia so I get to celebrate it…just don’t tell the Aussie’s that as an American It thought this was boxing – the sport- day. Like maybe there was a big match in England every year the day after Christmas. That, my friends, is NOT the case.  It really has as much to do with sport as American Thanksgiving does – ie. Thanksgiving is not a football holiday but we correlate it to football because we watch it on Thanksgiving. In Melbourne, where I am visiting right now, its sort of a Cricket Holiday as the test matches are held today in the city and in Sydney its the start of the Hobart Yacht Race.

I thought it would be cool to celebrate Boxing Day with a Kickboxing Class buuut I slept in instead. SO I celebrated by doing my regularly scheduled gym workout (Day 2 of Visual Impact 2 day split).  I didn’t end up working out on Christmas, I had to much fun hanging out, eating, opening presents and napping 🙂 There was an uncharacteristic hailstorm yesterday in the city which made it an unexpected, semi-white Christmas down under. Buuut I napped through most of it. I ADORE storms though so I enjoyed seeing the rain and hearing the thunder.

 

I finished my little crochet project that I started while I was on the airplane coming to Australia. I’m not good at it yet but I’m getting better! I thought I’d try to make a circle scarf since my straight scarf looked a little sad (I made the straight scarf on the plane ride to Cincinnati).

I know it might sound funny – the back of my head is buzzed, I’m an aerialist and..I crochet. But I really do like it. It keeps me busy, usually ends in a finished product and its a good activity when I feel snacky but not hungry. It helps me to keep my jammy fingers out of the sugar bowl, sometimes.

 

 

We’re going on a fishing trip with Dan’s grandparents tomorrow and I have high hopes that his  Nana is going to teach me to knit. I’ve wanted to try my hand at some knitting projects as I like the way the stitches look better then crochet stitches…I’ll keep you posted 🙂 Merry Christmas America and Happy Boxing Day to whoever else celebrates it 🙂  I’ve got a nice nutrition run down planned for you when I get back. I’ve got a couple new guidlines to incorporate in the new year. Spoiler alert, one is drinking hot green tea with every meal.  I’m on the mug right now!

Ciao!!

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Fitness, holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

