I’ve been a little absent for a few days.  The goodbye’s have already started, and I’m not good at goodbye’s.  I’m not graceful or elegant, I’m a person who likes to pretend everything is normal to the bitter end and then deal with changing routines and realities as they hit me.  I feel like goodbyes and feelings are inefficient… and apparently I am working on becoming a robot!

This is our “goodbye” food stash from work today.  Yeah baby, we KNOW how to party…

 

 

 

I also like to work out to the bitter end, over boxes, in airport terminals, in the bathroom if need be (air squats anyone?) and so regardless of the to do lists I’ve managed to eke out a workout routine.  Today wasn’t much, just Ab Ripper X in the bathroom (of course) at work, but it counts 🙂  Yesterday my hips and thighs felt really tight so I power walked 3 miles and did a short 3 exercise crunch routine.  I’m going to try to get myself into a longer run tomorrow if time allows but I work Monday and I leave Singapore for good on Tuesday so there’s a bit of a to do list.

How do I squeeze in workouts and find the will to work out when I’m busy and unsure about where or when I’m going to be a certain place?  Here are a few of my tips:

1. I stash things for workouts everywhere I frequent. I have a band, hand weights and push up bars in my locker at work, an ab wheel under Dan’s bed (shhhhh don’t tell him, he’ll know my secret) and I have six million decks of cards floating around in all my purses and bags so that I can do an impromptu but structured workout ANYWHERE AT ANYTIME – ie the bathroom, a hallway, outside, a hotel room, a ballroom (but not a ballgown…wait, even that would work).  I also like to keep running shoes on hand if I can but if it’s inconvenient often I carry my Vibram FF’s in my purse.  and always, always my iPod/headphones

2. I know that right now my schedule doesn’t allow for a set workout schedule so I have one rule for myself, workout everyday in some way.  However it ends up being convenient is how it happens. When I’m more settled, I like to have workout schedules down to the second and rep but right now I can’t .  So I think about my schedule every night for the next day and toss things in my purse/bag that could help me squeeze in a sesh while I’m running around.  Today I was busy but knew I’d be able to snag 15 minutes of abs on the bathroom floor (on a towel, don’t freak).  Tomorrow, I’ll try to run, but I also want to get in my band circuit so I’m stuffing my bands in my purse.

3. Anything you do repeatedly will become a habit.  I have been motivating myself to workout regularly for a few years now, it’s a habit.  Once something is a habit, it’s easier to keep the momentum going.  As with anything, the more you do it, the more you do it – simple.  I’m re-learning this with running. often I try to find excuses not to run because its uncomfortable for me.  But I have been telling myself, I have to do it for it to become a habit.  Usually my little mantra is “don’t think, just do” – I can’t take credit for that, my friend Travis used to say that a long time ago and it stuck.  Another mantra I have is “do it now, I’m making this a habit” .  Sounds moronic-ly obvious, but I’m a moron sometimes, we all are and so moron mantras (MM’s) are often my most used.

4. I remind myself to go with the flow.  If I just can’t get a workout in, I call it a rest day and plan what will happen tomorrow, you need a few rest days every week.  It’s all good, working out is not my life, my life is enriched by it.  And yes I do have to actually tell myself that sometimes (another MM).

Here are some things I got up to this week when I wasn’t working out, working or packing:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Fitness, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s great how you try and sneak in little workouts…I get into the all-or-nothing mindset too often!

  2. Yeah, I had to work hard to change my all or nothing mindset… but it tends to be my default. I have to plant all my fitness props around and remind myself that even 10 minutes of exercise is worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

