Oh How The Mighty Have Fallen

Remember how Saturday night I felt like the shit because I ran 5 miles?  Well about 4 hours later, I just felt like..shit.  I was so pumped after my run that I happily whipped up dinner for Dan but wasn’t feeling hungry myself.  In hindsight my stomach had been feeling a little weird all day but, I have IBS, my stomach feels weird 90% of the time.  I had kind of a stuck feeling really high under my ribs, but nothing debilitating.  I started to feel a little more ick and I thought maybe I should eat a little something.  I made tea and ate grapes and then a headache I’d been sporting turned into a migraine and all I could do was hide my head under a pillow until I fell asleep.  Dan gave me one of his magical massages after I downed 3 ibuprophen but neither made a dent in the headache although somehow I did fall asleep.

Then at 4 am I woke up having to go to the bathroom and it all came down.  I’ll spare you the details but the rest of the night and all of Sunday included vomit, bile, and me lying on the bathroom floor crying for mercy.  Funny, the first thing that popped into my head was “I’m only one stomach flu away from my goal weight” and the thought of having to throw up one more time to fit into a dress horrified me, and made me giggle.  I begged my intestines to give me the runs.  Every time a wave of nausea would begin I found myself bargaining, trying to breathe it into my lower bowels.  After about three times trying this tactic to no avail it started to work. Ahhh mind power!  By the time Dan came home from work I had myself sleeping in a half upright position (lying down made me puke and so did sitting up so I constructed these pillows to help me stay in between) and I hadn’t puked in an hour or two.  And I was out. I slept for hours and when I woke up I couldn’t get up.  I’m sure I would have died if Dan hadn’t taken care of me, made me toast and helped me drink some sports water.  Oddly I had been starving since I’d woken up at 4.  I’m not one of those people who lose their appetite when they’re sick, generally I’m hungrier. And vomiting apparently doesn’t even turn me off of food as I’d been trying to devise ways of eating cereal I knew we had in the cupboard.  But, although I was hungry I was more sick and weak and couldn’t eat anything until Dan brought me the toast.  Life. Saver.

When I’m sick I’m always afraid it will last forever.  I know I had a fever because my joints hurt really badly and I’d get sick chills when I had to pee.  Call me crazy but those are the tell tale signs of fever in my history.  My whole body hurt and I wondered what I would do if the pain lasted longer then a few days.  Could I will myself to get up and run, dance, maintain the active lifestyle that I have become accustomed to? Even Dan said it was hard to see me, such an active person, nearly unable to lift an arm. I felt like a fetus and probably looked like one too, all curled up.

But then, sure enough, every time I’m sick, i always get better.  I felt my fever break during the night and I woke up this morning, no aching joints no vomiting.  Foolishly I thought “hey, maybe I can get right back on track with my running and go for a two miler today”. Then I got out of bed to go to breakfast with Dan and the act of walking to Boomerangs made me exhausted, tired and afraid to be too far from bed.  And the toast with avocado was a little too much for my stomach to handle.  I think I’m sticking to a toast diet for the rest of today. No running.  And no cereal.

Do you ever feel that way when you’re sick – like you may never get better?

Since I don’t have any pictures from yesterday (you’re welcome) I’ve got a picture that I found while perusing The Knotty Bride.  Hey, you don’t have to be a bride to appreciate bridal fashion or wedding websites. I AM a girl you know. Being a wedding planner is one of my fantasy jobs. I probably wouldn’t have thought to persue it but in the back of my mind I think I’d adore it. Who knows? Maybe one day I will!

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Is this gonna be FOREVER???

Leave a Reply

