Sunday Funday

Shit’s getting real people, I have just under 1 month before finishing my contract. I vow to do my very best never to take for granted the fact that I have passionate, talented, motivating performer as a partner.  Being in this together is something that, in my line of work, in my life-style, is just a true gift.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, staying on your feet, always planning out your next possible ten moves, contingency plans, keeping your skills honed and progressive… it takes a lot of energy.  And time. And sharing your life with someone that not only understands and upholds your need for that time but pushes you to spend more time, to do more, to be more, to try for more; someone that helps you look past your fears and insecurities; someone that needs the same things from you – that’s what I have in Dan.  I’m in my element tonight with my mug of hot tea, computer out, working on the business of The Business – updating my website, sending emails, editing performance photos, along with looking up how to renew my drivers license while D is shirtless playing the guitar and reworking chords, sending pertinent emails and giving me advice and encouragement on my website.  Sigh. This is what life is all about. This is the good stuff we’ll remember later. One of the best things about having a blog is having a long lasting journal, so I can look back at my highs and lows and be reminded of the good stuff when things get rocky or my emotions get the upperhand.

So lest I forget in the future, I am lucky, I am happy. Life is more then the brief funk’s you can get in over feeling insecure or the number on the scale or a bad workout, or even a crappy year.

(lets not forget that D also encourages me to look my best – a lá Crest White Strips! Thank you to my best friend Melanie for bringing them for us from the States!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday I didn’t feel like running, I just strapped on my Sketchers Shape Ups and power walked it for an hour. May sound lame but I worked up a sweat exploring Fort Canning Park which has been right around the corner and yet I’ve never been.  Today was a light day too – hence, Sunday Funday.  I worked this morning and squeezed in that 15 minute circuit workout I’d done earlier this week from Women’s Health.

I got to spend the rest of the day with Dan (napping, eating, chores) so I opted not to workout. I have to work all day tomorrow which is usually our day off together so I decided that a lunch break workout would be worth the day off today.  I’m feeling more and more comfortable with 3-5 workout days a week schedule as opposed to 5-7 that I’m used to.  and I’m no worse for the wear, though I’ve lost some strength, I’ve gained no weight, but I have gained time, rest, peace of mind in knowing that perhaps I don’t have to be Fitness Obsessed all the time to be OKAY. This is important.

I even got to try the Oktoberfest beer that Brewerkz has on tap right now!  Happy Autumn! Dan and I went to dinner and I nearly squealed when I found out it was available. It’s not that I’m a huge beer fan but I do like trying seasonal things and I’ve noticed Oktoberfest and some delicious sounding pumpkin beers that they just don’t have out here (along with the pumpkin spice latte at starbucks – big pout!).  I really liked it, which is saying something, it’s light without being watery and not sweet, but almost sweet.  I recommend it 🙂

I hope you had a great weekend. Any news? 

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad that you came across my blog!
    When it comes to working out, I’m in the exact same boat as you. I’m slowly getting used to only working out 3-5 days a week. For the longest time I worked out every day, without fail and that only led to me feeling mentally and physically fatigued. Plus, I stopped enjoying my workouts!
    I can’t wait to hear more about the work that you’re doing, and what you’ll do when you get back to LA! Love your blog. (:

  2. yay! High fives to us for trying to give our bodies the rest it needs! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

