Changing it Up

So if I’m in a workout rut, or a body rut, or a whatever kind of rut I’m in I’m sure it means (as Shanti suggested) that I need to change things up.  But I think, maybe not just in the workout area. Maybe in every area.

Today I flipped through my Women’s Health “Get-Back-In-Shape Training Guide” that I’ve been hanging on to but doing nothing with for the last 6 months and I saw a 15 minute circuit workout that involves 4 moves with a resistance band (the whole circuit is done 3 times through).

It felt somewhat easy but good!  and I was inspired to then jump on the treadmill.  I knew I didn’t have enough time to get much mileage in (I was working out on my lunch break) so I ran 1 mile with a few sprints then stopped and checked my time.  Then I did 1 mile of steady pace and compared times.  It was fun because there was an attainable defined goal. I pushed myself because I knew I could and I wanted to. I’m not a fast runner. At all, like, my fast sprint time was a 10:17 mile and was working hard but the only way to get faster is to… get faster. It was a really good workout, it felt really good – a quick circuit and 2 miles.  Sweet!!

This morning I was thinking it might be nice to start focusing on a few different things.  I whipped out my camera and I’m going to try to remember to take note of things I find beautiful or interesting AND to take pictures of things I find beautiful or interesting.  So here are my pictures for the day

 

 

 

My glittery pink nails (only my left hand turned out and I was forced to strip the right hand fingernails.  I’m only glittery on the left side he he he!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

My self-decorated Starbucks mug filled with morning tea. I cut the pictures out of Australian Dance Magazine and it makes me happy when I look at it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The back of my magazine.  I love this picture, even though it’s an advertisement, I just think it’s beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A selfie I took displaying my Mom’s engagement ring, a gift to my father from his father to give to my mother when my parents wanted to get married many years ago (and subsequently a warning that, despite what they said in the 80’s a girl can, in fact, have too much blue eyeshadow). I find it beautiful. and it makes me think warm thoughts about my grandfather and my parents. I just started wearing it recently. I think I’m a little homesick…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A picture someone else took of me while I was having fun last weekend on the lyra with rock star violinist.

 

 

 

 

 

And last but not a picture, the quote Paulo Coehlo put up as his facebook status today :”The light of love flows out of one’s soul, but often it goes nowhere because it’s blocked by pain.”

What did you find beautiful/interesting today? How do you get yourself out of a rut?

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on October 13, 2011, in 30X, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

