Why I May Consider Botox…(and other weird anecdotes)

I’m back on the horse.

I don’t know why it’s been such a struggle to get my workouts done lately, but they’re getting done. I’m conjuring the words of a friend from times past ” Don’t think, just do”, thank you, Travis.  I don’t think these are words to apply to everything but often I use them as my mantra for workouts – I don’t want to do this yoga pose “don’t think, just do”, I’m shaky and want to curl up and take a nap instead of Ab Ripper X “don’t think just do”. It works for many things, haircuts, standing in line at the DMV.  But sometimes it doesn’t work. And when it doesn’t I try this little performers gem “fake it till you make it” which is why many people will see me grinning like an idiot while doing Ab Ripper X and then Chest SHoulder Tricep on the floor in the bathroom at work.  Why, you ask? I will be doing my best to trick my brain into thinking I ADORE working out in between sets in the bathroom.  Scientists (though I’m not sure exactly which ones so I can’t quote them) have found that the physical act of smiling can help to change your actual mood.  Facial expressions can affect your mood. Which is why botox’d babes report less anger (or so I read in Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project”, which I recommend btw) because they physically can’t make angry faces.  Score one for Botox! That’s the first positive I’ve ever read about it but there might be something to it. And if not everyone thinks you’re a little bit crazy for smiling like you’re a resident at the funny farm and will treat you really really gently 🙂

As an update, this really did work for me today (I wrote the blog above this morning at work to kind of get me in the mind set). I started the day feeling depleted of energy (for no apparent reason since I only left bed/dan’s side yesterday to 1. pee 2. get coffee 3. get food.  I should have been bouncing of the walls but instead I woke up feeling like the wall had bounced off me for 48 hours.)  But I smiled while trying to get through Ab Ripper and when I started “the workout from Hell” ie. Chest Shoulder Tri I may have given out a few battle cries and said, out loud “my god, I have so much energy today!!” and after the first few shaky moves I felt like I did have energy.  and now I feel like I kicked some serious Tony Horton and exhaustion ass. Mind. Over. Matter. or more accurately facial expressions over mind.

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on September 21, 2011, in 30X. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love the Chest Shoulders Tri. LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

