Suckage

Most days I find being an adult 10 times better then being a kid.  I paraded around my first white hair (that I found 3 weeks ago), I partied when I got my first wrinkle.  I will tell you that every year I’ve lived past 18 has gotten better then the year before.  I certainly enjoy all the trappings of adult hood including:

1. eating whatever I want (i.e. dessert for dinner, or breakfast, or all the time)

2. drinking (alcohol)

3. sex (and, as my grandma likes to call it “shacking up” I love practically living with my boy)

5. no bedtime

6. going wherever I want, whenever I want to

I truly love being an adult. But once in a while I hate it. Like today. and yesterday. I’m having a dark day. I want to stay in bed and cry all day and watch Grey’s Anatomy and only get out of bed to make hot chocolate (okay, mocha’s, I am still and adult). I want to not have to work out or be nice to other people or think of anyones feelings or whether or not any vegetables are included in my diet. I want it to be okay that I can’t come up with a good reason for feeling like crap. I don’t want to get out of bed and go to work, or pay my student loans, or answer emails or even take a shower. I want to have a dark day, alone, under my comforter and cry until my eyes swell up and then pass out in exhaustion and wake up tomorrow to be a better adult then I am today.  But that’s not going to happen. Because I’m not 6 years old.

I may still drink mocha’s all day though.  And screw vegetables…

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well the key to a healthy psyche is acknowledging these kinds of days, allowing yourself to wallow in them or picking yourself up in spite of them, but always knowing that they will pass. There is always light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. I love your honesty about what you love about being an adult! So true to all of those 🙂 and sometimes I wish I could be a kid again too, especially when things get tough. It’s okay to have days like that once in a while, you’ll be okay! Hope you feel better 🙂

  3. Thanks for the support girls 🙂 I’m feeling much better!

Leave a Reply

