Back in The Saddle…

Well, I didn’t end up getting my run on (little grammar humor for y’all!) yesterday.  Instead, I ran my errands and then got a massage.  It was a public holiday and the gym closed early. and I may have spent a little too much time shopping… he he he.  What I did find though, was a running magazine to pump me up and an Oxygen magazine.  I also ended up deciding on a little craft project that I started today.  I’ll explain that.  All in all I felt better at the end of the day. I don’t know why yesterday was kind of rough but I just wasn’t feeling good.

Today though, I ran 3 miles on my lunch break.  While I would say that I’m pretty much starting from scratch with running again, I think the desire to run has officially come back. Three miles was both tedious and exciting, I found my stride and I think after a week or two of three milers I’ll be ready to pepper in my five mile runs again.  How did I so quickly become a “runner”? I think I’m really starting to enjoy the mix of light running with resistance workouts that comprise my p90x plan.  I feel lighter and more flexible and energetic then ever! All in all, I don’t feel even the slightest bit off track from my vacation, I kind of feel fitter! YAY!  I’d blame it on the sunshine, but there was none 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided that I’ve been spending too much money eating out so I started this week off right by making up a bunch of brown rice and kidney beans for the week to bring to work.  I also brought a bottle of tomato basil marinara sauce to work. So today for lunch I had brown rice, beans and tomato sauce… cheap, filling, healthy.  Thank you.  This is a new endeavor for me.  I’ve always, even when my budget was tighter, a person who eats expensive healthy food.  Salads from Coffee Bean and Subway and bananas from Starbucks have been my staples as I never put in the time or effort preparing things in advance. I always chalked this up to running around and not really having a home base.  Well that’s still kind of the case as I pretty much live at Dan’s place and I still schedule all my activities pretty solidly around work and workouts.  However, with rice and beans and sauce it seems I can keep the sauce in the work fridge and whipping up rice and beans and putting them in tupperware takes less time then I thought. I picked up an apple and a cucumber to snack on for breakfast and post lunch and that was my day… in a nutshell, cheap AND convenient AND healthy.  I’m rather proud of this.

Anyone have any other cheap, healthy, easy packing tips and/or tricks?

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Fitness, FOOD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

