Tangent

I’ve been in a bit of a blogging slump lately. I know I’ve been busy, but busy-ness usually amplifies my creativity.  Not so of late and that’s why you’ve been getting semi-lame o posts.  In an effort to reconnect with life I’m giving you a tangent post on some of the things that have trickled into my mind lately.

1. Oh how I love to listen to children with accents!  I was on the train yesterday and a little girl with a british accent was playing rock, paper, scissors with her dad and I was just melting inside. You’d think living abroad like I do would make me start to take accents for granted but it’s kind of worked the opposite.  The children I see (and hear) at work with Indonesian accents who take my hand and touch it to their forehead in greeting, the Chinese and Singaporean kids with their quick Mandarin thank you’s, and the Indian boys and girls who speak so quickly but look directly in my eyes, they all just make me swoon. And of course, the British and Australian children who I actually understand most of the language well, I want to scoop them up in my arms! I love listening to Dan’s accent, especially when he talks to friends and family from home (it gets more exaggerated) it makes me giddy with adoration. I would really like to have children with this man and have my babies take on his accent.  I don’t know how I’ll ever get anything done, I’ll just want to sit around listening to my loves speaking in complete bliss…

2. I’m craving marinara sauce in a big way.  All I can imagine right now is smothering a bunch of broccoli, carrots, onions, potatos and eggplant in a whole jar of marinara, heating it up and devouring it. For some reason having pasta with it turns me off today (and I LOVE PASTA!!)  It’s such and odd craving to have. I usually crave the normal stuff – jelly beans, chocolate covered almonds (even though I can’t eat them), frozen yogurt or french fries.  But today all I can think about is the veggies and sauce. And I won’t be eating it tonight as I have dinner plans.  Maybe tomorrow…

3. I’m in a book slump too.  I powered through a few books recently and then last week when I tried to dive into Angelology I tanked.  I’m not interested. So I looked around my bookshelf of books yet to be read and I found that I’m completely unmotivated by all of them but still wanting a good read… ideas?

4. I’m sore from Legs and Back yesterday but not in the “oh my god I can’t move I hate this” kind of way.  I feel amazing physically for the first time in a long time! I have energy even though I’m not getting much sleep. I ran a 5k at lunch today and then… stretched, thoroughly.  I never do that I don’t know what is going on with my body this week, but I certainly am not complaining! I’m looking forward to rest/stretch day tomorrow and then starting week 2 on monday!

5. I miss Dan.  And I see him everyday, every night.  But as soon as we leave for work (and we even work at the same place, we just don’t really see each other there much) I miss him.  I find that throughout the day I’m waiting for when we get to reconnect.  Dan is one of my longest relationships (although at just over a year, that’s not something I’m bragging about, it’s just the truth) and it seems that I still feel like we just went out on our first date and I’m craving more.  So I guess what I’m saying is that contrary to popular maxim familiarity is breeding desire as opposed to contempt…

6. The reason I’m not getting much sleep is because after being busy all day Dan and I unwind by watching Entourage and for some unknown reason Dan lost his mind and put me in charge of how many episodes we watch.  Which is bad bad bad, because I have no willpower when I get engrossed in a tv show.  Especially one that dramaticizes a life that we’re kind of living and planning on living.  Oh show biz.  It makes me simultaneously miss and abhor the LA life.  I’m hooked and make us watch several episodes before I can’t fight passing out anymore.

Okay, now to finish up my day by having dinner with Birney!!  I’m going to take her to Raffles Hotel tonight so she can experience the original Singapore Sling (and the ancient lounge singer who still does shows there.  He’s awesome!)

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

