Fashion Friday

Written Last Night:

First: I am… drunk.

Okay, maybe I’m just solidly buzzed as I’ve managed to spell most of the previous words correctly on the first or second try.

Second: I never blog about fashion because, in the spirit of honesty, I’m not that fashionable.  I am the stereotypical late bloomer who had trouble matching her shoes to her purse or knowing what Manolo’s were until I was well past 25.  However I did manage to get a comment from one ex-boyfriend to the tune of “geez Crista, you make your clothes your bitch!” which made me proud and now I am going to post an outfit with pride

  I have to say I love this outfit I wore to a friends wedding reception tonight. BUT, I can’t really take credit for it since I would have never picked this out myself! My best friend of ten years sent this dress to me for my birthday.  She is someone who really knows me better then I know myself. When I opened the package I thought 3 things. 1: That is a beautiful dress! 2: I would have never picked that out! and 3: I’m fairly certain that is tooooo small for my hips.  Okay, there was a fourth too… it was wow, I’ve always wanted to be able to pull of a dress with pockets but I think my hips and ass are too big.  However, Dan loved it, asked me to try it on and loved it even more.  So when I got the reception invite two days ago I thought, what a perfect opportunity to wear The Dress!  But the dilemma was I didn’t have shoes to match!  If you know me, you know my wardrobe consists of a lot of black and neutral colors with a few bright tank tops and basic heels and lately, cute sporty athletic shoes.  I’m not a bright colors, fashion statement kind of girl.  The red floral dress I wore for Dan and my anniversary was a departure from the norm.  No one would say I’m conservative or  without a signature style I just couldn’t articulate to you what it was.  I like to keep my clothes pretty simple and use my hair, eyeliner, hat or shoes as my statement pieces. Yeah, I would have never picked out this floral, form fitting, feminine dress with pockets. Which is exactly why Melanie knows me better then I do.  The minute I put it on I got compliments (and not just from Dan).  and even though I had my reservations about how it would fit me, it ended up fitting like a glove (and by that I mean, it skimmed over my hips like it was sewn to their exact measurements and caressed my bust so I didn’t need a bra AND didn’t look like a skank).  Melanie is a genius.  The last issue was footwear.  I didn’t know what to wear with the dress and as I’d worn through my last pair of black pumps (like, nail poking out of the heel) I was stumped.  I looked for ages to find yellow or creme or flesh colored heels, maybe with a peep toe? But the last store I went into last night was Pull and Bear and these coral wedges were on sale for a third of the price of the lackluster pumps in the wrong color I’d been scouring all evening.  It was impulse, I didn’t even try them on but they fit and the pink matched well enough.  Yeah baby, I’m glamourous for the night

Well, since I don’t know how to use my camera you won’t get a pic of the blushing bride (I thought I took a picture but indeed, I just pushed a button and flashed the bride a test flash apparently).  In fact most of the pictures I thought I took tonight I didn’t end up taking.  Hmmm guess I have to hit the user manual hard this weekend?

But here are a few from the reception:

All in all, it was awesome. She is one of my favorite people and I was so happy to get to see her on her special day.

In other news, I felt like a badass because I’ve been able to fit P90X into my super busy schedule!  Yesterday I ran 3 miles in between sets and today I did my Ab Ripper and Legs and Back… and I’m proud to say that after a good 10 months off I can still do pull ups!  Not as many as before but I got 6 in.

Written this morning:

Dragging myself out of bed.  Muscles are SOOOORE.  Bring on Saturday…and coffee, lots of coffee!

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

