Bring it On

So, I’m still down for the count. I did manage to go back to work today but I also marked the fourth day off of any physical activity of any kind.  I am known to take my lunch breaks at the gym and today I passed out on a work couch, dead to the world until someone woke me up for the next set. I don’t sleep like that at night; after a full days work; after running a half marathon. I definitely should not have slept like that after 3 days horizontal and a venti iced americano! Something is up but I’m hoping giving myself the rest is all that I need and if all goes well I can be back on my (jogging) feet in a few days? Please?

But, that’s not what we’re here to talk about!  I want to wrap up this last 30 day experiment so we can move on to the next one!

The last 30 day challenge really did rock!

The Good:

1. I can’t believe I made 100 miles in the 30 days. I believe I ran 30 miles (if that!) the month previous.  It just goes to show you the power of a goal and strength you can have in your own body.  The sky’s the limit I guess.  And included in that mileage was my first half!  AWESOME.  I have to say that learning to run long runs has done  a lot for me and I’ve only just started. I realized that while I wouldn’t say I’m one of those people who LOVE running that I crave it when I’m not running and I feel so good after I’ve completed a run. Knowing I can run distances (albeit slowly) is a huge ego boost as I’m pretty sure I just wrote myself off as one of those non runner people for the majority of my life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Weeeelllll.  I learned a lot from the push up and sit up goal.  Namely that sometimes you don’t have time or mental energy for too many goals at one time.  I rarely hit 100 on the day-to-day and there were probably about 7 days throughout the challenge that I didn’t do ANY…er, okay. Running the mileage clearly became my first focus. But that being said, making a habit of “drop and gimme 20” a few times a day showed me that there’s always time for quickie conditioning.  Making fitness a way of life, like a professional athlete, even though I’m not is fun and there are gains to be found.  The only other things I could have been doing in the 5 minutes it took me to bust out some push ups and sit ups would have been eating, peeing or daydreaming about sex.  And really the most important of those I can do while doing push ups (okay peeing is really important to…).  And I felt much more robust this month. Between running and conditioning my energy seemed to soar most days. And I felt pretty invincible. My immune system has proven me otherwise.

3. Positive affirmations, how you got left on the side of the road.  I didn’t write down 100 affirmations. I’ll admit that I feel cheesy about them.  However when I took the time to research them I found them helpful and I found a few mantras that really work for me throughout the day, while I’m running, when I feel myself getting “not constructive” about my body.   and those few mantras and sifting through different ones has been the invaluable gift of this unmet but worthwhile goal.

For me I’ve found:

1. I’m born for this

2. all the miles are the same

3. this situation is not me, this feeling is not me, its temporary and will pass

4. I am amazing!

5. I am an athlete!

6. I do this for love.  I do this for me, for Dan, for those I love, to prove that love exists

as new agey, AA meeting, churchy, or cheesebally as these sound (and I was embarassed to write them down actually) to me even, I have found strength, happiness, energy through them.  They’re reminders to me. Especially the first one and the last one.  When I was running my first (and only) 10 miler I kept thinking whenever I wanted to stop – “hey, I was born for this!” and then I’d list why, I’ve always been athletic, I’ve always pushed myself for me regardless of difficulty or tedium, I. Was. Born. For. This.  It’s what I think before auditions.  and the last one, through out my whole life, when things are painful or difficult I always remind myself “I do this for love, I do this to prove it to myself that it exists, that it can be all you expect it to be” and that includes perservering, consistent, patient and encouraging. I run, I perform, I improve my communication skills, I write… for love.

So all in all this last 30x was a great success I think and now it’s time to take what I learned and move on! I’ll give you a bikini pic if you want but in all honesty I don’t think my body has changed AT ALL except that now it knows it physically can sustain 13 mile runs 🙂  My legs are the same size my abs look the same my arms do too… I have one of those bodies that fortunately holds on to muscle and tone pretty well (although it also holds on to water weight and fat with determination as well so, you know).  The only thing I think I changed physically from this experiment is a few scars on my feet from where my shoes rubbed…

 

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on August 4, 2011, in 30X. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. awesome blog crista! very inspiring to read! 🙂

  2. Very inspiring Crista! like seriously impressive, you go girl 🙂

  3. Hey Little Crista! I feel the same way about positive affirmations, so I learn the short ones in other languages. It keeps my mind from spinning out of control if I am having a bad day because I am trying so hard to remember the correct pronunciation. That way I can feel good about the message without feeling like that guy from Saturday Night Live (Stuart Smalley “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and, gosh darn it, people like me!) CHEEZBALL!!!!

    Love to you!

  4. oh Jackie, that’s an awesome idea!! I’m totally trying that out this week 🙂 love back at ya

Leave a Reply

