Recovery

My favorite kind of recovery, thanks to Amanda’s bag of goodies for me 🙂 She brought them to give me after the race.  Last night Dan helped me put a considerable dent in all this sugar.  I’m restoring my glycogen…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really had no idea what to expect after this race.  Apparently I think I’m a barbarian woman who can run races without adequate training or preparation and jump out of bed the next day ready to rock and roll.  While I don’t feel like I was run over by a truck, I’m feeling a lack of energy, big time. I wasn’t sure if you were supposed to hit the road running again the day after a race or rest so I googled recovery after a half marathon.  Apparently everyone is different and unique like snowflakes or whatever but taking a few days off of running is okay.  Yesterday I did nothing.  I didn’t run jog, powerwalk, and I definitely didn’t do 100 push/sit ups.  I did nothing.  Well, actually, Dan and I went to breakfast after sleeping in until noon and then took a slow but substantial walk around the river. My knees hurt but the walk felt really helpful on my legs.  Then it was nap time again.

Today though, while my legs are only minimally sore I feel fatigue in my brain and the rest of my body. So I’ve done…nothing.  I might take a long walk later but most likely not.  Tomorrow I plan to rev up again, like reverse taper.  I have practice time on silks in the morning and dance at night so I’ll plan to fit in a light 3 mile jog and resume my push ups and sit ups.  I’ve only got 5 days left to get the last 20 miles in 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 25, 2011, in 30X and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

