Race Week Begins and Day 18!

That’s right, we’re over halfway done with 30x!!  Would you like update photo’s? They’ll have to wait a few days until my birthday/cake/alcohol water weight flushes out, he he.

Since it’s race week I’m not planning to do much running, I want to save my legs.  I really should look into at least consulting a coach if I’m going to keep on racing but meh!  We’ll see how the races go and then I’ll reassess.  I did a light 2 miles on the treadmill today, walking.  I’m at 60 miles for the month so far and I’ve already got a good 19 miles planned 😉  So far I’ve done 50 of my push/sit ups.

How do you workout the week before a race?  or two?

I’m excited for tomorrow as I found a gym that will let me rig up my circus equipment and train a little by myself.  It’s been a long time since I got to play with my silks and I can’t wait to work through the kinks and feel that flow again! I’ll try to take a few pictures to show you how I’m coming along 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For my birthday I was given some awesome gifts! One of those gifts was this book (it’s like, mirror image because I took the picture on photobooth…I’m ghetto)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is “Skinny BItch” Kim Barnouin Ultimate Everyday Cookbook.  Now I have read Skinny Bitch (and Skinny Bastard which actually is the same book just geared at men 🙂  And I’ve read a lot of books about the vegan lifestyle.  But this book, cookbook, looks amazing! I just started flipping through it today at work.  I love the layout of the book and the information in it.  One of the things about being vegan, for me specifically, is that I am a busy performer who doesn’t have my own kitchen at the moment.  So this book seems to simplify things a bit.  BUT I am so excited to use it also once I have my own kitchen!! In fact I think it’s going to be my new best friend.  I’m going to try to start with a recipe from it next week after the races are over.  I’ll feature it here.  The orange scones are calling out to me….

The other thing is, deciding to be vegan again was a weird decision.  The two day before my birthday I ate grilled chicken.  I had been craving meat and I wanted to see how I felt when I ate it.  I still owe you a post on why I’m going vegan again but suffice it to say that reading this books helps me remember why and feel better about my decision.

Okay, I’m off to get some sleep 🙂  Oh I did receive a few positive mantras today but the one I’ll chant as I’m going off to sleep is my girl, Chelsea’s “I’m a beaming light of positivity…”

 

 

 

 

 

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on July 18, 2011, in 30X, FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Week before a race, taper time. Do a speed workout in the beginning of the week and then go easy until race day- either no run the day before or a short/slow/loose run. Carbo load 2 nights prior- not the day before like most people think.

Leave a Reply

