Day 7 & 8 – In Sickness and In Health

What do you do when you start feeling sick?  I’ve been feeling exhausted and run down for the last few days and today I woke up with a raging sore throat.  And I know it’s so easy for me to plunge into illness from this place.  I’ve done it plenty of times.  But being allergic to nearly all antibiotics, I try to head it off myself first.  Yes, I’m the girl who keeps fresh lemon and a jar of honey (and a wicked paring knife) at work so I can drown my sore throats in hot water-honey-lemon goodness.

and I try to sleep extra, hence the sleeping in this morning and the fact that I planned to run after work 🙂  I didn’t want to stop this mileage train, I’m actually feeling really good about my pre half marathon training. For the three races I’ve done I put in maybe like, 5 miles a week total and hoped for the best.  He he he, I’m lucky.  However I don’t feel like a champ right now since I had to skip my run tonight.  I was looking forward to it.  Oh well, today is my second off day of the week but my third day not running.  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be feeling good enough to run in the morning or after work.  Send me your healthy thoughts! I did do my push up/ sit ups though.

Surprisingly the hardest thing so far about this 30X is trying to get in the 100 push/sit ups! Sometimes I reach the end of the day and realize I only did like 50 of each and I have to bust em out before bed – and a few times I haven’t.

The affirmations – well, it’s hard to quantify the affirmation part.  During the day I end up, knowing that I need 100- changing my thoughts for the better and I’m finding just remembering that it’s something I need to do is positive.  I’ve been walking tall and learning to let negative feelings just flow past me like water. Here’s an example of my thought process:” I HATE MY THIGHS – don’t think about it, think about an outfit you love, think about how Beyonce rocks her thighs, how can I play them up a little? oh dan loves these shorts on me I’ll wear these, hey who wouldn’t love thighs like these! what is my training schedule today? ” Negative feeling over. Life is so much bigger then your thighs.

One of the things I’ve been dwelling on lately is that it’s useless to work hard for the world.  That there’s no reason the world can’t work hard for you.  Does that sound selfish? I don’t mean it like people should work hard for me. I just mean that since I was young (can you relate?) I felt like it is my responsibility to work so hard to fit into the world, to find my place, to be what people, employers, life, god? is expecting of me or I will get passed over and my life will be meaningless. But as I get older I realize that I have had that absolutely backwards.  Because my job really is to do what I love to do, be who I am, love who I love and life bends and moves around you, to fit you.  There is not one right answer.  So I created a little mantra for myself for when I get anxious about finding “the right job after this” or finding “what I should be working on to be where I should be” Do what you love and life works for you.  I believe this to be true.  My Dad used to say “there’s a place for every dancer” to me when I freaked out about whatever I was freaking out about at the time – the size of my thighs, how tall I wasn’t, my inability to recreate the look of certain choreographers.  And while that may seem like a way to tell yourself its okay to not work hard, it’s not if you’re not looking for an easy out.  The truth is without someone to play the Mamma character in Chicago, the story isn’t the same.  I remember this now as an aspiring actress who is not tall and not blonde (anymore).  I’ll never look like the classic hollywood leading lady.  But if all there was were leading ladies they’d be completely unsupported.  There’d be no one to play the short brunette girls 🙂

There are so many examples of this that I find. Lauren Hutton with her gap between her two front teeth who revolutionized sexy in her day.  Fosse for crying out loud.So these are my two mantras: Life is so much bigger then your thighs (CRISTA) and  Life works for YOU.  Try it. tell me if it helps.

I’ll try to write a good post in the next few days.  Hopefully I’ll have some good runs to report on…

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on July 8, 2011, in 30X and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

