Day 5 – Napster

That nap did me good.  I find that I need more sleep then I used to think was ideal and that I need more food then I used to want to give myself.  And I drink more water now then I ever wanted to in the past.  But I woke up still feeling a bit groggy.  I put on my new compression socks (from the Japanese store, the Daiso – they’re so cheap there since everything in the store is $2!!) charged up Dan’s iPod Nano and put my music on it (he he he).  I told myself I’d just powerwalk. I’ve really been a champ about running lately!  However as soon as my shoes hit the pavement I knew I had to run, knew I wanted to run.  So I did – 8 miles! and I walked the last mile bringing my total for the day to 9 miles. which is pretty bad ass for someone who was running 1-3 miles on a regular basis.  Take that last year me (anyone remember the Thanksgiving FRIENDS episode where Monica competes with last years Monica?)!

I’m going to be honest with you though, I only did 50 push ups/situps yesterday and the same goes for today.  I don’t know why. Yesterday I wasn’t feeling it, Dan and I were having the day together and though I ran and walked 7 miles I didn’t make myself do the last 50 before I went to bed last night. And I don’t know that I will tonight either.  I’m actually pretty tired still and so I think it’s okay.  Tomorrow and Thursday I work all day and so I’m going to force myself not to run and try to garner some energy and healing in my legs to try for a 10 miler this weekend so I may shoot for 150 push/sit ups Wed and Thursday and that will make up for the last two days completely! I feel like I am finally a runner.  Not a speedy runner, but a consistent one. I did stop the clock at the 5 mile mark, grab a sports water and hit the bathroom and that seemed to do the trick.  I think 5 miles is my rehydrate marker and it seems after that I should put a little water down my throat every 3 miles.  That’s what I’m going to start working with. and walking a mile after my run seems to help my hamstrings not feel quite as tight but they still ache and it’s painful to try to touch my toes (not cool for a dancer).

So, I had all these deep thoughts while running and I so wanted to come back and pour them out here.  But D-rock came home from work and went to play darts with the fab Marky Mark.  They smoked me as usual and then I left them to their man talk so I could come home and blog (I’m sure they’re talking about how beautiful and amazing I am at this very moment). But I am still just so very tired so instead of dropping a bomb of beauty and profundity on you I’m going to leave you with this slide show – don’t feel bad, I think I’m also too tired to do my first favorite thing, but don’t quote me on that.  I tried to use the self timer on my camera to capture the sexy-ness of my new compression socks, my running shoes with the bungee laces and my Cotton On short shorts, whilst standing in Dan’s foyer.  These are my attempts for your pleasure… Nike, Addidas, you interested??

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on July 5, 2011, in 30X, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

