Yellow Nail Polish

Did you know that in a month I’m going to be 29?

You wouldn’t guess this about me (I don’t think) but I was incredibly shy and conservative when I was young.  I remember a friend bringing over smiley face yellow nail polish to my house to paint our toenails for the summer when I was 13 and thinking… woah, that’s crazy, like popular girl-who kisses boys-who goes to movies and shops at Contempo crazy (Contempo was like my generations Forever 21). I managed to paint them and be proud of them. I only wished I had cute cutoff jean shorts and knew how to style my hair and what music to listen to go along with those amazing toes. I was a very, very late bloomer. Like, I think I’m still mid-bloom.

I was so shy I didn’t look people in the eye when I talked to them. I spent my teenage years working at a health food store, going to dance lessons and practicing for competitions, studying in my free time and dreaming of meeting and marrying the love of my life (that I would hopefully meet that year so I could marry straight out of highschool).

I don’t think anyone would have imagined that I would leave at 18 for a dance degree at a midwestern university. That I would move to LA on a whim with a negative bank account balance.  That I would proceed to work so many jobs each year that I had to bring a stack of W-2’s and 1099’s to the accountant in the spring.  That I would not only learn to look people in the eye but would list professional belly dancing, hair modeling, aerial work, choreography and burlesque performances to my ever growing resume.  That one day I would do fitness modeling, hang from my neck, from my ankles, swing from my toes and yes, even be a fuzzy character (for a day, I was Dora the Explorer!). That I would, eventually fall in love and that in the meantime I did not marry anyone before I was ready.

And now, painting my nails silly yellow on yet another whim, while sitting in my dressing room wearing glitter and false eyelashes I remember the girl who wore khaki’s and penny loafers to sunday school  when she was 10.  The girl who thought wearing yellow nail polish on her toes in the summer was wild and exciting.

Here’s to all the years and all the very different things I’ve gotten to experience.  Who knew?

And no I don’t think I’m too old for yellow nail polish or anything nail polish or otherwise that involves sparkles…

About Coco

Dancer, performer, cosmetologist and now first time mum. I spent my life traveling the world as a performer. Now, the next chapter is unfolding...

Posted on June 15, 2011, in About and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Your words made me smile. Happy Mid-Blooming!

  2. Thank you for you awesome comment on my NUUN app!! so appreciated!!! Your header is unreal!! Were you a dancer! Gorgeous!!!

    • THANKS! I am a dancer! I was lucky I did a dance photo shoot with an awesome photographer a few months ago and she took this picture. Can’t wait to find out if you’re on the NUUN team!!! I’m adding you to my blog roll, stat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

