Birthday Challenge

Running and I have not always been friends. In fact, the relationship is tenuous even now.  But I will tell you this; Yesterday I was in a foul mood.  FOUL. Like, I don’t even like myself when I’m that upset.   And I took yesterday as my rest day because of the way my work schedule ended up.  However I was feeling really tight in my hamstrings and my lower back hurt too. This is weird for me, my back is like the hoover dam.  So I did a crunch sequence and then stretched out, nothing structured just some yoga poses and runners stretching.  I felt better, still agitated but better.

Last night as I was going to bed I felt like something was missing.  I looked at my Dizzle and said “I really missed running today.  I think I was looking forward to it. OMG.  I hate running”  and  he replied “no you don’t, you’re a runner now!”  His pride and confidence in my interests makes me sparkle no matter what kind of day I had.  I imagine this is what people meant when they talked about unconditional love.  I have no explanation for why he loves me or is proud of my little personal accomplishments.  But it feels so good!

Sooo I like running? I missed it, I can’t wait until my shift is over today so I can get my run in…

I’m turning 29 in July and I must say getting older doesn’t scare me at all.  Every year of my life has gotten better then the last 🙂 So, I signed up for The Shape 10k on July 24th at 7:30am and I’ve been looking forward to it, in a way.  Well, now, I have a couple friends wanting to run the Marina Bay half marathon and I really wanted to run a half before leaving Singapore. I was so excited I was like “yeah! lets do it!! When is it?”  Turns out it’s July 23rd at 7:30pm. Okay, I did miss my run yesterday but cranking out a 5k a few times a week is a new endeavor.  I’ve never run more then 10k (6.1 miles).  However I think I may do this!! I know it’s a little crazy to schedule a half marathon in two months when I haven’t been training for one.  and I know that a back to back, less then 12 hour turn around from half marathon to 10k is crazy.  BUT I am not competitive.  I’m not fast. I’m not expecting to win any awards.  I figure, if I can up my weekly mileage and get a 10 miler out of myself once a week I could do this.  I could run the half marathon strictly to finish in whatever time I need.  I could then run the 10k as a recovery jog. A jog, as in if I’m wasted from the run the night before I am allowed to walk or crawl or stop and rest.  Participation has to be the only rule.

Whadya think?? How’s that for training motivation!!

In other news, I can’t believe Dan finished all three of the Millenium Trilogy that I had asked him to read. That’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest.  I loved them. They’re exciting books from the late Steig Laarson, a Swedish writer who created, in my opinion, one of the coolest female heroin’s in literature.  Now that he’s finished the books we can watch the movies!!! I hear they’re making American versions of the movies soon….

MMMM, now I’m craving swedish fish… I wonder if they have them here….

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

