Ouch

Last night I went to a gymnastics class!! yep, that’s right! Now I am fairly active and acrobatic compared to the normal desk worker. But I’m not a desk worker. And I haven’t had a tumbling class in ages and working on my own I know the few tricks I have from highschool that only take me a while to get back into. But I really don’t know what I’m doing and I usually throw those tricks with a “holy hell, I hope this works” kind of attitude.

So I expect to be real sore 🙂 we did a full warm up – cardio, splits, strength and handstand exercises against the wall. Just in the warm up my wrists pooped out. Done. Uh oh, how will I even do a cartwheel now??!! But I realized that wrists have muscles too and mine have become emaciated. I have actually lost inches on my wrists from not training in silks and the like… ha ha ha! But I felt good and I worked up to all the usual skills by the end of class, throwing an aerial (cartwheel without hands), back handspring, roundoff back handsprings, front handsprings and I felt very flexible and limber which I haven’t felt in years. Changing my emphasis from my muscles to my skills has been a good move even if I happened to lose some strength from it. I believe the strength will come back without the bulk and hopefully with more intensity as I quite working out and just train for the skills i want (plus running for races- ie 4 times a week and doing abs). I’m hoping this time around without an excess of protein and resistence training I’ll gain strength without sacrificing speed or energy. I’ve always felt exhausted when training. Last night I had energy for class! and the conditioning at the end just burned the rest of my energy up. I went home sweaty and feeling good, and ready for bed 🙂 today I’ll try to hit a yoga class or two to counteract what I believe is the beginnings of a really sore week….

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This post is a reminder to honor what our bodies are capable of doing. Sure we obscess over reps, body fat..but what about ability? Knowing our investment in our health results in freedom of movement seems to be more of a reward. Thank you for reminding us to take joy in movement.

  2. yes Ma’am!!! thanks, your comments are always inspiring to me girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

