Geekalicious

Perhaps my blog should be called fit-nerd. Dan calls me a fitness geek. I buy nearly a book every fortnight on fitness, wellness, running, health. I read Rusty’s Fitness Black Book and Fitjerk and a handfull of others. I knew about Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training before it got quoted in Men’s Health. It’s true, I’m a nerd. I like keeping up on the fitness and diet trends, analyzing them for myself, being able to hang with the big boys when it comes to conversation about fitness, training and athletics.

So prepare yourself for my latest “toy”…

of course after reading “Born To Run” I had to try two things: chia seeds and the Vibram FiveFingers (for barefoot style running without having to run barefoot). I considered trying running just barefoot but I think Dan would kill me. Especially if I stepped on something. The result… I was able to run a whole hour and ten minutes in my barefoot runners and I felt fantastic!!! I did get blisters but I have unusually sensitive feet. I’ve never NOT gotten blisters or bleeding feet from any new shoes, heels and ballet slippers included. I can’t wait to run in them again. My plan is to do the trail run on Sunday in them.

As for the chia… it’s awesome. You put like, a tablespoon in water, mix, let sit for 5 minutes, mix again and then let it sit overnight. IN the morning it’s gel like and I just add a little agave and voila! it’s delicious, gives me TONS of energy. But there is a HUGE drawback. I get painful, distending, uncomfortable gas. and since I’m a lady, I’m in pain forever until i can find a bathroom and let some out. which means after three days of having chia gel in the morning I haven’t touched it since. I’m wondering if I’ll get used to it (like extra fiber) but I think I’ll need a solo vacation to try it again. oy vey.

here’s some pictures, nerdy nerdy pictures

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Try blister powder or body glide on your feet prior to wearing the 5-fingers shoes.

    • do you wear the fivefinger shoes? hey I meant to write you back about the workouts too. I’m not doing anything other then running, jogging, walking and sit ups now and then. No P90X, no programs, but I do take a pole dancing class once or twice a week. I’m trying to lose muscle and just reduce the size of my body in general. And then I’ll start a resistance program again to increase or maintain tone. If you’re doing P90X and cardio of your own I can’t imagine you’ll need or want anything else! you superwoman!!

Leave a Reply

