I did it!

So after a work day that lasted until 2am my darling Dizzle jumped in a cab with me and at 6:15 am we made our way to the 10K! I wasn’t even nervous, I was just shocked that my boyfriend opted, CHOSE to come with me because he wanted to watch and be there when I finished the race 🙂 He’d also thought ahead and brought me sports water to down at 2am.

Who knew that running on a road in a swarm of women not talking to each other could be such an awesome experience. In hindsight it seemed to go so quickly! I didn’t run as fast I would have liked. but I wasn’t sure how I’d make it to the end or how tired I’d get. I trained on my own and relied on my nike band (uncalibrated) to judge distance. I was having a great time, it’s like meditation, people were passing me right and left but I was focused on keeping my own pace. I’m a slow and steady kind of person.

About 5k I started thinking, I’m glad I’m halfway through, I’m starting to get a little tired. Then at the 6k marker I rounded a corner and I spotted D in his beanie, I got a little extra pep in my step! I waved and flashed him a shit eating grin. He snapped the picture below.

At 8k my legs hurt, i picked up my pace slightly, well, I focused on striding longer and that felt good, but I knew I was nearly done. On my nike band I realized looking down at it that it was a mile off. So in my training every time I thought I’d run 3 miles I’d really only run 2, and so on. so in light of that I’d never run more then 5 miles. I’d been running between 2 and 4 mostly. eeegad. But the fatigue, and lets face it, the lack of food and hydration started to give me a prickly exciting feeling. I got goose bumps and pushed a little harder.

At 9K I wanted to be done. My hip joints were aching and I felt really dehydrated. So I tried to stride longer and faster. and then I saw the finish line and I picked up the pace and passed like 5 people, eye on the line, trying really hard not to trip. I raised my arms and then as soon as I hit the other side a wave of naseau washed over me and my vision blurred. I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t scared. I walked with jelly legs over to receive my sports water and then looked for D.

After that I was feeling amazing! D took me to my favorite breakfast place (STARBUCKS!!!) and then home to shower. I had a tumbling audition that afternoon and I was a little nervous so I didn’t want to relax too much.

All in all it was a fantastic experience. I’ll definitely race again. and definitely calibrate my nike band so I can train properly.

However I did get progressively more sick as the day went on yesterday. Burning in my chest and a head cold crept up on me and when I woke up this morning not only are my legs really sore (embarassingly!) but my head and chest are all congested. I had a fever and the chills so I went back to bed and woke up at 3 today in a sweat. I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that I pushed my body after a weak of low sleep and poor nutrition.

so while I was supposed to work out today I took the day off. I ate breakfast and went back to bed. I’ve been drinking medicinal tea. now I’ve got a rehearsal for stilt walking but after that I’m resting and most likely sleeping in again tomorrow.

About evafitness

I fell into fit-love like falling into a well! I started this blog because I realized how much of my day I spent working out, trying new physical activities, reading fitness blogs and the like. Now I'll share my questions, findings and general fitness environment with y'all!!

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

